荷兰

对不起,没有最好只有更好!

画家伦勃朗(Rembrandt),梵高(Van Gogh)笔下的向日葵,郁金香,风车,17世纪阿姆斯特丹运河的对称美。荷兰闻名于世的事物不在少数,但世人对荷兰人又作何评价?也许是我们天生拥有对艺术、自然和科学之美的鉴赏力?您若曾到过阿姆斯特丹,定知我们也善于享受生活!

 

“努力工作,尽情享受”,这八个字精辟入理地概括了荷兰人的人生观。这也正是遨慕世的工作之道。倾吾之所能做事。无论是在艺术、科学或工程领域,荷兰人凡事追求至臻卓越。荷兰人始终挂于嘴边的问题是:如何将“好”做到“更好”。

水之国度

荷兰的三分之二位于海平面以下。这就是我们国家官方名字尼德兰(尼德兰的字面意译为低地国家)的由来!倘若不知如何驾驭水域,荷兰将会深陷困境。所以毫无意外,荷兰的工程实力世界闻名(比如在距离遨慕世船厂25公里处,建有防止北海暴潮来袭的东斯海尔德防潮闸),造船技术也是顶级的。因为这些都与我们生活息息相关,是我们赖以生存的技能。

游艇谷

加利福尼亚有“硅谷”。 在荷兰我们有紧密联系的“游艇谷”,那里是海洋知识中心的摇篮。许多海洋学专家在世界知名机构比如代尔夫特理工大学,荷兰海事研究所学习他们的专业知识,甚至我们的母公司达门造船集团就拥有强大的研发部门。所需之技能知识近在咫尺,是我们之所幸。

从“狩猎”到“游艇”

游艇的概念源自荷兰。“游艇”这个单词起源于荷兰语“jacht”,原意为”狩猎“。 随着时间的推移,其概念从轻型军舰转变为追捕海盗的船舶,17世纪拥有快活王绰号的英国皇帝查尔斯二世选择乘坐YACHT从荷兰返回英国复位,自此YACHT的词义转变为游艇,意为接送运输非常重要的人物。从那以后,游艇和纯粹的享乐和开心划上了等号。您能给享受游艇想出更好的理由吗?起码我们不能!

Holland

Sorry, but 'good' isn't good enough!

Rembrandt. Van Gogh’s sunflowers. Tulips. Windmills. The beautiful symmetry of the 17th-century canals of Amsterdam. Holland is famous for many things, but what do they say about us? That we have an appreciation for beauty, in art, nature and science, perhaps? And if you’ve ever been to Amsterdam, well, you know that we know how to have fun too!

 

‘Work hard, play hard’ pretty much sums up the Dutch outlook on life. It’s the way we work at AMELS. Do everything to the best of your abilities. Whatever we do - whether it be in art, science or engineering - the Dutch like to excel. To always ask the question: how can good become great?

Land of Water

Two-thirds of our country is below sea level. No wonder our country is called The Netherlands! If we didn’t know how to manage water, Holland would be in deep trouble. So it’s no surprise that the Dutch are renowned throughout the world for our engineering prowess (for example, just 25km from the AMELS yard in Vlissingen, the Eastern Scheldt storm surge barrier protects the Dutch people from flooding from the North Sea), for our shipbuilding. It’s because our lives depend on it! 

Yachting Valley

In California they have ‘Silicon Valley’. In Holland we have ‘Yachting Valley’, a hothouse of marine expertise centred within a close-knit community. Many marine experts learn their trade at world-renowned institutes such as Delft University of Technology, or MARIN, or indeed at our parent company, DAMEN’s strong R&D division. We are fortunate to have all the expertise we need, right here on our doorstep. 

From 'Jacht' to 'Yacht'

It was the Dutch who invented the concept of yachting. The word ‘yacht’ originates from the Dutch word ‘jacht’, meaning ‘hunt’. Over time the concept of a yacht turned from a light Navy vessel for chasing pirates, to a pleasure vessel used by wealthy Dutch merchants. And so began the use of a yacht purely for pleasure, purely for fun. Can you think of a better reason to go yachting? Nor can we!